Another successful season for the Splendora Ladycats volleyball team resulted in six players earning District 21-4A postseason award recognition.

Coached by DaVette McCall, Splendora went 27-4 overall and reached the area round of Region III. It was the second straight season the Ladycats accounted for more than 25 wins.

After a 10-2 finish in district play, Splendora didn’t have any superlatives this season. Instead, the Ladycats had one first-team selection, two second-team selections and three honorable mentions.

Huffman-Hargrave senior outside hitter Skylar Nappier earned the league’s top award — Most Valuable Player.

Nappier’s teammates Brenna Jones (Offensive MVP) and Christina Alley (Setter of the Year) also earned superlative awards. Both are seniors.

The Falcons’ leader Tammy White was selected as the Coach of the Year.

Kennedy Evans of Liberty was named the Defensive MVP.

Dravyn Hurd of Hamshire-Fannett was selected the Newcomer of the Year.

Splendora junior Jalynn Knight was selected first-team.

She was joined by Huffman’s Hagen Pike and Kristin Kruger. Liberty’s Abbie Knepper and Katrina Tran were also selected first team.

Trinity Provost (Hardin-Jefferson), Kristy Hinze (Shepherd) and Lilly Sims (Hamshire-Fannett) rounded out the first team.

Representing Splendora on the second team were seniors Ashton Schulz and Tori Moore.

Huffman had two second team selections in McKenzie Anderson and Erin Drvenkar. Liberty had two second team picks as well in Jordan Watkins and Morgan Vaughn. Hardin-Jefferson’s Audie Rogers was also a second team pick.

Splendora had three honorable mentions — seniors Melaney Owens, Mykala Moore and Katie Brzowski.

Other honorable mentions included Rylan Hancock (Huffman), Grave Martin (Huffman), Brooke Guerrero (Huffman), Taryn Orn (Livingston), Jenna Hampton (Livingston), Jon’Toyrian McNeal (Livingston), Madyson Goudeau (Liberty), Emalee Villarreal (Liberty), Brynn Trove (Hamshire-Fannett), Kaylee Barlow (Shepherd), Grace Ramos (Shepherd), Cheyenne Lowrance (Shepherd), Ashlyn Yarbrough (Hardin-Jefferson) and Karsyn Laurents (Hardin-Jefferson).

[email protected]