Nearly 130 people were arrested for Driving While Intoxicated charges in Montgomery County over the course of spring break (March 8-24), according to records from a public information request filed by the Chronicle.
The Montgomery County Sheriff's Office partnered with other area law enforcement agencies thanks to a Texas Department of Transportation grant to actively look for intoxicated drivers during spring break, according to a release from the office.
"I am proud of the partnership of Montgomery County Sheriff's Office with state and local law enforcement agencies to ensure our community was safe this holiday season through participation in the holiday DWI initiative," Montgomery County Sheriff Henderson said in the release. "The dedication of these individuals was apparent through their diligent work in searching for and preventing intoxicated-related offenses."
BREAKING NEWS UPDATES: Get your Houston breaking news alerts delivered to your inbox
In Texas, a person is charged with DWI if their blood or breath alcohol concentration (BAC) is .08 or higher, according to the Texas Department of Transportation (TxDOT.)
Driving while intoxicated in Texas is usually considered a misdemeanor on the first two offenses. A person's third DWI offense results in a felony charge. A handful of the nearly 130 people arrested were charged with a second or third or more charge for DWI.
Drivers charged with a third DWI face up to $10,000 in fines, between two to 10 years in prison and can have their license suspended. Drivers can also face an annual fee up to $2,000 for three years to retain their license, according to TxDOT.
See mugshots and charges of the accused in the photos above...
ON HOUSTONCHRONICLE.COM: Houston is 'ground zero' for drunken and drugged driving